Plans & Monthly Cost · Guide
Do cellular trail cameras need a subscription? Brand by brand, from their own pages
Short version: yes, with one free tier and one 'works as an SD camera' exception. Longer version: what a plan actually pays for, what happens when it lapses, whether you need your own cell service, and what the free trials really are.
By Mike M.Updated Spec-checked, not field-tested
#adReader-supported: we may earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never decides a ranking. How we rank · Disclosure

Yes, mostly: the brand table
| Brand | Plan required? | Cheapest | Without a plan, the camera… |
|---|---|---|---|
| Spypoint | No (Free tier) | $0 for 100 photos/mo | Sends 100 photos a month; records the rest to the card |
| Tactacam | Yes | $5/mo, $55/yr | Not stated on the plan page |
| Moultrie | Yes ("all cellular connected devices require a paid subscription") | $8.99/mo | Not stated; Edge cameras have no SD card, so nothing is stored locally for you |
| Stealth Cam | Yes | $5/mo, $60/yr | Not stated |
| Reconyx | Yes ("active plan required for operation") | $250/yr | Doesn't operate |
| Browning | Yes for cellular; optional overall | Unverified (login) | "Functions as traditional SD card camera when preferred," per Browning's 2026 lineup post |
| Bushnell | Yes after 30 free days | Unverified on maker page | Not stated |
| GardePro | Yes after a free first month | Unverified | Not stated |
From each maker's page, September 21, 2026.
What the subscription pays for
The SIM in the camera is on the brand's carrier account, not yours. Your plan fee covers the data it uses to upload photos, the app and servers that receive them, and, at the higher tiers, the bandwidth for HD photos and video. That's why plans are metered in photos: a downsized photo is a few hundred kilobytes, an HD photo several megabytes, a video far more. Spypoint's $5-per-50 HD packs and Tactacam's Xtra add-on are the same cost, priced two ways. The tier breakdowns are in plans compared.
Do you need your own cell service?
What happens when the plan lapses
It depends on the brand, and most don't say on the plan page. What we can state from the pages we read: a Spypoint camera drops to the free 100-photo tier; a Browning camera keeps working as an SD camera (its own words); a Reconyx doesn't operate without an active plan; a Moultrie Edge has no SD card, so with no plan there is nowhere for photos to go that you can reach. For Tactacam and Stealth Cam, both cameras have card slots (the Reveal Ultra also has 16GB internal storage), so photos should still record locally, but the brands' plan pages don't promise that and we won't. If pausing a plan in the off-season is part of your budget, pick a brand that says what happens.
Free trials vs free tiers
Bushnell's "first 30 days free ($15 value)" and GardePro's "first plan free for 1 month" are trials: the plan starts after. Spypoint's Free plan is a tier: it doesn't end. Those are different products with the same word on the box. The only "no subscription" cellular camera we can verify is a Spypoint on the Free tier; the full explanation is in cellular trail cameras with no monthly fee.
Three ways to minimize the subscription
Our picks for this
Free tier, pausable plan, no plan
A cellular camera with a permanent free tier, a cellular camera that works as an SD camera when paused, and an SD camera that never bills.
Stock photoBest value cellular camera
Spypoint Flex-M2
Spypoint7.5/10Free 100-photo tier, $79.99. The only verified no-subscription cellular camera.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Spypoint Flex-M2
Stock photoBest trigger speed cellular camera
Browning Defender Pro Scout Max HD DV
Browning (Strike Force Wireless)7.8/10Browning says its cellular cameras run as SD cameras when the plan is paused; plan prices are behind a login.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to Browning Defender Pro Scout Max HD DV
Stock photoBest budget non-cellular camera
GardePro T5NG
SD / Wi-Fi8.5/10No SIM, no plan, Trailcampro's 91/100. Walk in and pull the card.
Check price · Amazon#ad · Price set by Amazon · Disclosure for the link to GardePro T5NG
How we scored this
Cameras we claim to have field-tested: none we don't own
Plenty of sites say they hung every camera on this list in a tree for a season. We don't say that, and we say so on every page. What we do instead: read the maker's published trigger speed, flash type, battery configuration and detection range; verify each brand's plan tiers on its own plan page and compute the real monthly cost at one and four cameras; cite the independent shootouts (Trailcampro, Outdoor Life, Field & Stream, TechGearLab) as their measurements, never ours; and score every pick on a public rubric. Every figure links to where it came from.
Scores are editorial judgments from that documented research, not lab results. Commissions never set a score or decide a pick. The rubric and its weights are published.
Questions
Frequently asked
Do cellular trail cameras require a subscription?
Almost all do. Spypoint offers a free 100-photo tier; Moultrie, Tactacam, Stealth Cam and Reconyx require a paid plan; Browning cameras work as SD cameras without one.
Do you need cell service for a trail camera?
The camera needs a tower it can reach; you don't need a personal cell plan. The SIM is in the camera and the brand's plan covers it.
Can I use a cellular trail camera without a plan?
A Spypoint on the free tier, yes (100 photos/mo). A Browning as an SD camera, yes per Browning. Others: not without a plan, and Moultrie's Edge has no card to fall back on.
Do you have to pay monthly, or can you pay yearly?
Spypoint, Tactacam and Stealth Cam offer annual pricing; Spypoint and Tactacam discount it. Moultrie shows no annual price for Standard or Unlimited. Reconyx is annual only.
Keep reading
Related on Cam & Canopy
Receipts
Sources
- Spypoint — photo transmission plans (checked 2026-09-21)
- Spypoint — FLEX-M2 product page (checked 2026-09-21)
- Tactacam — REVEAL app plans page (checked 2026-09-21)
- Tactacam — REVEAL Ultra product page (checked 2026-09-21)
- Tactacam — REVEAL X 3.0 product page (checked 2026-09-21)
- Moultrie Mobile — plans page (checked 2026-09-21)
- Moultrie — EDGE 3 product page (checked 2026-09-21)
- Stealth Cam — Command data plans page (checked 2026-09-21)
- Reconyx — HyperFire 4K Covert IR Cellular product page (checked 2026-09-21)
- Browning Trail Cameras — 2026 cellular lineup announcement (checked 2026-09-21)
- Browning Trail Cameras — Defender Pro Scout Max HD DV product page (checked 2026-09-21)
- Bushnell — CelluCORE 20 Solar product page (checked 2026-09-21)
- GardePro — X66 3.0 Ultra product page (checked 2026-09-21)
- Trailcampro — GardePro T5NG review, measured figures (checked 2026-09-21)
We don't claim to have field-tested these cameras and we don't pretend to. Specs come from the maker's own product pages (linked on every product), plan prices from the maker's plan page with an “as of” date, and independent measurements are attributed to whoever made them. Amazon prices change often, so we don't print them. Where a figure isn't published, we say so. Read the full method.